About the Editors

Thomas Graven-Nielsen, DMSc, PhD, M.Sc.EE, is a full professor in human pain neuroscience at the Center for Sensory-Motor Interaction (SMI), Department of Health Science and Technology, Faculty of Medicine, Aalborg University, Denmark. Since 2006, he has been head of the International Doctoral School in Medicine, Biomedical Science, and Technology at Aalborg University. He is also chair of IASP’s Special Interest Group on Musculoskeletal Pain. He has published substantially within the musculoskeletal pain field, focusing on pain models, biomarkers, and assessment technologies to study muscle and joint pain, referred pain, deep-tissue hyperalgesia, and muscle function during musculoskeletal pain.

Lars Arendt-Nielsen, DMSc., Ph.D., is full professor in translational pain research, founder, and director of the International Center for Sensory-Motor Interaction (SMI), Aalborg University, Denmark. He is also the founder and director of R&D at the clinical trial unit, C4Pain. He has delivered more than 200 keynote lectures at international conferences and has published more than 840 peer-reviewed journal papers on experimental and clinical assessment of pain and on application of human pain biomarkers in drug development. Has served on the IASP Council, as co-chair of the IASP Global Year Against Musculoskeletal Pain in 2010, and is on the board of IASP Press. He is chair-elect of IASP’s Special Interest Group on Musculoskeletal Pain. In 2007, he was knighted by the Danish Queen for his contribution to science.