About the Editors

Srinivasa N. Raja, MD, is professor and director of Pain Research and the Division of Pain Medicine in the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, and professor in the Department of Neurology at Johns Hopkins Medicine in Baltimore, Md.
Dr. Raja received his early medical training in India, his residency training in Anesthesiology at the University of Washington, Seattle, and post-doctoral training at the University of Virginia School of Medicine in Charlottesville. Dr. Raja’s clinical and research interests are aimed at understanding the peripheral and central mechanisms of neuropathic pain and evidence-based management of chronic neuropathic pain states. 
Dr. Raja was elected secretary of IASP starting in October 2014 and chairs the Scientific Program Committee for the 15thWorld Congress on Pain. He is a section editor of IASP’s journal PAIN and was elected vice chair of the society’s Neuropathic Pain Special Interest Group (NeuPSIG). Dr. Raja was a member of the FDA scientific advisory panel for the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research and a member of the executive committee of IMMPACT. He served as an associate editor of Anesthesiology from 1998 to 2006. 
Dr. Raja and his collaborators have published more than 150 original articles in peer-reviewed journals, and he has edited five books. He received the Wilbert E. Fordyce Clinical Investigator Award from the American Pain Society in May 2008 and the prestigious John J. Bonica Award from the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine in November 2010.
Claudia Sommer, MD, is a professor of neurology at the University of Würzburg, Germany. After receiving her M.D., she did residencies in psychiatry, neuropathology, and neurology. She worked in the United States as a research fellow in the laboratory of Prof. Robert R. Myers at the University of California, San Diego, from 1991 to1993. In 1994, she joined the faculty of the University of Würzburg, where she achieved her “Habilitation” in 1997 and obtained the rank of Professor in 2002. She has written more than 150 original research papers and more than 100 reviews and book chapters. She has edited books on neuropathic and facial pain.
In Würzburg, Dr. Sommer serves as a consultant in neurology. She organizes outpatient clinics for patients with Fabry’s disease and with neuropathic pain or headache, and she leads the Peripheral Nerve Laboratory. With her research group, she investigates the role of small nerve fiber pathology and of inflammatory mediators such as cytokines in painful diseases. Other scientific interests are the improvement and standardization of diagnostic biopsies and the pathophysiology of antibody-mediated diseases.
Dr. Sommer is an IASP Councilor, and she chairs and is an active member in several European committees on peripheral neuropathy and on neuropathic pain. She is active in the development of national and international guidelines on nerve and skin biopsies, diagnosis and treatment of peripheral neuropathies, and neuropathic and facial pain. Her grants come from the German Research Foundation (DFG) and from the European Union. She is a reviewer for scientific journals, the DFG, and serves on the editorial boards of several journals.