About the Editors

Ralf Baron, MD, PhD, is head of the Division of Neurological Pain Research and Therapy and vice chair of the Department of Neurology at the University of Kiel (Christian-Albrechts-Universität Kiel) in Germany. From 1999 to 2004, he served as general secretary of the German Interdisciplinary Pain Society. Since 2005, he has served on the management committee of the Neuropathic Pain Special Interest Group of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP) and since 2010 as an IASP councilor. During 2008–10 he was a board member of the German Pain Society.
His main research interest is the pathophysiology and therapy of neuropathic pain states. He has intensive scientific collaborations with several researchers worldwide, including Professor E.M. McLachlan, Sydney, Australia; Professor H.L. Fields, San Francisco, USA; and Professor T.S. Jensen, Aarhus, Denmark.
Professor Baron is associate editor and reviewer for many scientific journals (advisory board member for Nature Reviews Neurology, 2005–present; associate editor for Pain, 2003–present; and the European Journal of Pain, 2006–12). He has been the recipient of the German Pain Award, the Heinrich-Pette-Award of the German Neurological Society, and the Sertürner-Award. In 1998, he was awarded a Feodor Lynen fellowship by the German Humboldt Foundation and was visiting professor at the Department of Neurology, University of California, San Francisco.
Professor Baron has authored more than 200 publications with his outstanding and motivated research team and has lectured at numerous conferences and symposia worldwide.
Arne May, MD, PhD, is a professor of neurology in the Department of Systems Neuroscience at the University of Hamburg and head of the headache outpatient clinic of the University Clinic of Hamburg. His major research interests are the basic mechanisms of head pain and the chronification of pain and plasticity within the human brain. The work of his group involves human imaging studies in primary headache as well as experimental studies of trigeminovascular nociception, with the aim of understanding how to modulate headache syndromes and chronicity of pain.
Prior to his position at the University of Hamburg, Professor May was a clinician and conducted research into pain and headache syndromes at the University of Regensburg. Before that, he completed his residency in the Neurology Department of the University of Essen, followed by postdoctorate studies at the Institute of Neurology in London. Professor May is currently vice president of the German Headache Society and since 2013 has been a member of the board of trustees of the International Headache Society. He has published more than 180 original and review articles and is an associate editor of Cephalalgia, Journal of Headache & Pain, and Der Schmerz.